31 Aug

Founded in 1918 by Ernest Ansermet, headline until 1967, the Orchestra of the Suisse Romande is composed of 112 permanent musicians . His subscription concerts are performed in Geneva and Lausanne, the symphonic ones in the city of Geneva and the annual concert in favor of the UN, as well as the lyrical performances, in the Great Theater of Geneva. His reputation has been built over the years thanks to his historical recordings and his interpretation of the French and Russian repertoire of the twentieth century.

Since January 2017, its artistic and musical director is the British Jonathan Nott . A world-renowned formation, the Orchestra of Francophone Switzerland, under the auspices of its first founding chief and later successive musical directors (Paul Kletzki 1967-1970, Wolfgang Sawallisch 1970-1980, Horst Stein 1980-1985, Armin Jordan 1985 -1997, Fabio Luisi 1997-2002, Pinchas Steinberg 2002-2005, Marek Janowski 2005-2012, Neeme Järvi 2012-2015), and their principal guest director, Kazuki Yamada (2012-2017), have always actively contributed to the history of music with the discovery or support of contemporary composers. Works by Igor Stravinsky, Darius Milhaud, Arthur Honegger, Frank Martin, André-François Marescotti, Benjamin Britten, Witold Lutosławski, Heinz Holliger, William Blank, Peter Eötvös, James MacMillan, Pascal Dusapin and Michael Jarrell have been created in Geneva for the OSR . In fact, it remains one of its most important missions: supporting symphonic creation and Switzerland in particular.

Orchester de la Suisse Romande

Jonathan Nott, director

Ludwig van Beethoven
• Symphony n. 7 in La Mayor Op. 92

Richard Wagner
• Lohengrin, prelude to the first act
• The singing masters of Nuremberg. Overture
• The singing masters of Nuremberg. III act suite
• The Flying Dutchman. Overture